COPD Support - COPD Information
 My first question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Sam-Tx

597 Posts

Posted - Feb 20 2009 :  10:45:33 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This is my first time to post anything on this site. I would very much appreciate knowledgeable and informed answers to my first question. I have just tested for the first time the 6mwt and I have no idea how to determine how good or bad I did.

Test conditions: 65 degrees F, 7% humidity, no wind.

Personal condition: short sleeves, one hour after hamburger, right after one vile of albuterol in the inhaler, male, 71, 150#, 5'11".

Aide: #6 on demand regulator on backpack oxygen. Used pursed lips exhale and through-mouth inhale every few times which bypasses the regulator.

Course: flat straight concrete in 62 foot length.

Results: 1,054 feet in six minutes (17X62).

Beginning: Oxygen 93 Pulse 90 standing.
Ending: Oxygen 83 Pulse 106 Standing.

I am guessing I am early to middle stage four but I would appreciate your opinions on this. I am on oxygen nearly full time with a concentrator in the home and multiple portable bottles when needed.

I have already learned a lot from reading your responses on this site, and I will definitely appreciate your knowledgeable coments on this.

Thank you - all.

Carolyn-Mi
Administrator

608 Posts

Posted - Feb 21 2009 :  07:26:06 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
How long did it take your Saturation to get below 89? How long did it take your saturation to get back up to your normal level after the walk?

Was the walk continuous or did they stop you because you had dropped. Just from my own experience with the walks, if I dropped below 89, they stopped the walk until I had gotten back to where I started and then upped my O2 before I continued. But I do realize not all places are the same.