Ever too late to quit?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Anneymay54

USA
33 Posts

Posted - Jun 03 2009 :  10:17:35 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have been battling with smoking for some 15 years. I have cut way back from 3 packs a day down to 4 to 6 cigarettes a day. I have sever COPD and am on oxygen 24/7 with a multitude of meds to help me breathe. With only 2 to 3 years left to live, I am wondering if quitting smoking is a case of closing the barn door after the horse is already gone. Not that I am justifing smoking at all but being as sick as I am, why add the anguish and pain of withdrawal from smoking when it is too late for it to really make any kind of difference anyway. It seems to me to be like building a home you know you aren't going to be able to live in because it is in the path of a tornado, just because everyone else thinks you should. Is it for the "good old college try"? Is it for that last test of will power? The end will still be the same.

Annemarie

Casey-CA

USA
782 Posts

Posted - Jun 04 2009 :  01:03:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It is never too late to quit smoking cigarettes.
I smoked for 33 years and 20 years of my parents and others left over smoke. I quit for good and will never pick up a cigarette again.
I have severe COPD and two and 1/2 years ago I went to the hospital because I couldn't take a step. I kept trying all day to go outside to smoke a cigarette or at least a puff and managed to go out twice and couldn't do it. My lungs gave them up for me, thank God.
I always thought that it would take a two week hospital lock up with drugs to get me to quit, but it just took me saying no more.