Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jason1972
Rookie

USA
6 Posts

Posted - Jan 03 2016 :  11:24:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all,
I was DX in 2014 with COPD (Fev1-26%), with Hypercapnic respritory Failure with an episode of Cor Pulmonale. I am on O2 24/7. I currently work full time as a Sales manager in a busy cell phone store, my duties include greeting and working close with the general public, managing inventory, coaching and developing employees. this requires standing all day on the sales floor as well. I carry a D cylinder with pulse dose as that is the only size that will get me through 10-12hr days (work and commute)it is heavy and a burden to carry, but is the most convenient. My concern is am I putting my health at further risk and if so is it time to call it quits? I have looked into SSD and I easily meet the listing, but I am concerned that the LTD insurance through my employer will have different criteria for meeting a listing and deny me. I am afraid to open Pandora's box and be denied through them and be "that guy".

Jason-CO

Dave-OH
Administrator

USA
4292 Posts

Posted - Jan 03 2016 :  1:19:21 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I would talk to your doctor about this, they are the best resource for you. You need to check the LTD rules to see if you qualify, as there is a 6 month wait for SSDI to kick in. That is from the date of application, but it can take time for the application to the processed.

Dave, Forum Administrator
COPD Support, Inc. http://www.copd-support.com/
Your source for peer support and COPD Info

My Site: http://lungresources.com
Go to Top of Page

jason1972
Rookie

USA
6 Posts

Posted - Jan 04 2016 :  11:28:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Dave,
I will discuss it with DR. My summary plan description through my LTD carrier does not list qualifications for disability. my guess is the keep it unclear so they can't be held liable. anyway Cheers and Happy New Year.

Jason-CO