New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rizla01
Rookie

United Kingdom
9 Posts

Posted - Feb 15 2017 :  12:46:09 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Do ANY meds actually work in that respect or is it all hypothesis and/or Manuf sales blurb.

Obviously I can see that most of the tasks performed by the multitude of Inhalers Etc is relief of symptoms but is that all? Has ANY progress been made, I wonder?

rosytomato
Contributing Member

USA
1347 Posts

Posted - Feb 15 2017 :  3:00:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm no expert for sure, but I believe most of the inhalers, etc. are basically used to relieve symptoms. I recently saw a Symbicort commercial that said it can give symptom relief after just 5 minutes.
Go to Top of Page

tsainta
Contributing Member

USA
1716 Posts

Posted - Feb 15 2017 :  4:00:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There is no cure for COPD; only symptomatic relief.

Tony-CA

50% of dealing with COPD is common sense.
Go to Top of Page

jmrommes
Contributing Member

1740 Posts

Posted - Feb 15 2017 :  4:11:14 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
So far, symptomatic relief is what we have. There are a number of studies going on that will tell us which meds work best with which types of patients, and there are continued attempts to find new receptors in the lungs and to develop new meds based on that evidence. There is legitimate work going on with stem cells (not the places that want your money; legitimate scientific studies that will actually lead us somewhere) that will eventually help us make progress. So there are positive things going on. It takes time. I urge you to join the COPD Foundations Patient Powered Research Network if you want to help find a CURE. Unless we do more research, there won't be one. So help us out, please.

Exercise not only lets me live, it enables me to have a life.
Go to Top of Page

rizla01
Rookie

United Kingdom
9 Posts